I need your help, regarding feedback on online cake decorating classes.

18 Jun

Hello fellow cake buddies

 

I have some ideas I have been thinking on and really need your feedback if you would be so kind to provide.

 

When I got started in cake decorating there were no classes available in my area. I scoured the internet looking for online cake decorating classes to which there were none. I spent hundreds of dollars on books only to be disappointed because they did not scratch the surface of cake decorating or they only covered the basics of cake decorating. I would have given anything to had been able to find online cake decorating classes that I could do at my own pace from my home. So I have decided to create a site that offers Online Video Cake Decorating Classes. I am still in the planning stages but would really love your feedback, I will share with you some of my ideas and would love your input. As a huge thank you to those of you who provide me feedback along with your top 3 classes that would be most valuable to you I will give you your first video class free from my website. Be sure to include your first and last name along with your email so that when the website is up and running I can send you a link to your free video class.

 

I have been approached by many to do local cake decorating classes in my area but I can’t help but think about all those online that are like I was in the beginning, looking for a way to learn cake decorating. So I began thinking, yes as hard as it is for me sometimes, he he he. Anyway I thought I could provide on my website, online video cake decorating classes that you could download and view at your convenience and in the comfort of your own home. For example lets say you already know the basics of cake decorating but would love to learn the basics of fondant then you could purchase and download the basics of fondant class. Or maybe you already know the fondant basics but have always wanted to learn how to make fondant characters, then you would just purchase the fondant characters class. This way you can customize your cake decorating learning and only purchase the specific classes that you want, not like a traditional class where you must take cake decorating 101 before you can take the fondant class.

 

The other idea I have is to provide a live chat that is available to those who have purchased one of my online cake decorating classes. This would give me the opportunity to interact with you on a personal level so that I can help you with any problems that you may have ran into during a class you have recently taken as well as answer questions you may have such as, while applying the fondant to my cake I noticed I have lots of air bubbles in it, what should I do to get rid of those without causing holes?  In addition I will also have a forum that is available to those who have purchased my online classes so that you can talk with others, share ideas, ask questions and so on.

 

As you can see, I think this would be a great addition to the internet community, however I want to see what you all think about something like this before I pour huge amounts of time and money into it, in addition I want to build it with the help of you all out there in the cake decorating world. I consider your feedback to be very valuable and would love to hear your ideas. Let me know what kinds of classes you would like to see offered on my site. below is just an example of some of my ideas.

 

1. The basics of cake decorating which could include, baking, leveling, and icing a cake.

 

2. Making a wedding cake, from start to finish.

 

3. How to make a designer fondant purse cake. From start to finish.

 

4. A cake decorators guide to the tools that make all the difference in cake decorating, what they are and how in the world do you use them.

 

5. Sugar cookies and how to decorate them, the different icings you can use, themes and so on.

 

6. Sculptured Cakes, how to sculpture them, ice them and decorate them.

 

7. How to airbrush cakes, the tools needed, and how to get started.

 

8. Fondant basics, making your own, where to purchase the commercial fondant, rolling out, lifting and covering a cake without holes, creases and so on.

 

9. Fondant/Gumpaste characters, how to make all those cute people you see on others cakes.

 

10. Fondant/Gumpaste animals, how to make your own little animals for different cake themes.

 

11. How to make a Lamp Cake, the base is a real lamp base but the shade is all cake.

 

12. Sculptured puppy cake, tools needed, how to cut ice and decorate.

 

I could go on and on but I will spare you the details, I just wanted to give you a glimpse into what I am thinking so that you could get an idea of what my plans are. Along with the ideas above I would also like to do videos on specific designs from creating a diaper bag cake to using cookies to create a scene on a cake.

 

All the video classes would be taught by me so as you can imagine this will take time to build but my plan is to get this started as soon as possible. I have already begun the basics and would love to know which 3 classes would be most valuable to you along with any ideas and feedback you may have and remember just for providing me your feedback and your top video class choices (you can choose from the 12 I have listed above or your own ideas) I will give you, your first video class free. Make sure you give me your first and last name and email so that when the website is completed I can email you the link to your free video class.

 

Please send your feedback to donnalane7@msn.com

 

I truly thank you for your time

Donna Lane

11 Responses to “I need your help, regarding feedback on online cake decorating classes.”

  1. Anne December 16, 2008 at 6:09 pm #

    Hi Donna,
    I am really thrilled about your idea. My mum and I are event coordinators, and we do quite a number of weddings. At the moment we bake most of the cakes but contract them out for decorating since we are not quite proficient in this area and we are looking to learn as much as we can.
    We are definitely interested in learning more about and participating in your classes as well as making use of the resources you will be offering online.

    Anne

  2. Hanin Rabah November 29, 2008 at 3:36 pm #

    Hi Donna,
    I’ve been searching for online cake decorating and sugar paste classes for quite a while, to no avail. It’s a great idea. Did you start the classes? I’m very interested in taking them.

    Hanin

  3. Donna Lane October 11, 2008 at 10:32 pm #

    Sarah the website is going to be a membership site and you would be required to pay a membership fee, and for that fee you will have acces to learn all sorts of things in cake decorating, in addition will have acces to me, a forum, a video library, and much more. Thanks for you interest!!

  4. Sarah ahmed October 11, 2008 at 10:14 pm #

    Hi,this is a great idea…iam searching for free classes and thank god…for your offer..

    iam intersted in the basices of cake decorating and how to make a fondant… the basices.

    thank you very much.

  5. Peter July 28, 2008 at 6:03 pm #

    Hi, I think online cake decorating classes would be a GREAT idea.

    I am most interested in characters (gumpaste/fondant), flowers (everthing from basic daisies to more detailed orchids and the like), airbrushing, sculpted cakes, decorating cakes with chocolate clay, marzipan figures. I’m sure there are others, but those would be my top picks for now.

    Peter
    I would appreciate the opportunity to talk with you about these things and provide any assistance I can.

    Best of luck,

    Peter Ragano

  6. Si July 9, 2008 at 7:44 pm #

    Hi I loved your idea, I’ll buy it….

  7. Sue "The Cake Mom" Anderson June 19, 2008 at 1:37 pm #

    Hi Donna –

    Sounds like a wonderful series! I’m thinking you’ll get a lot of viewers no matter which video you go with. It’s like having the Food Channel without commercials!

    If I had to pick only three for my vote, I’d go with sculptured cakes, airbrushed cakes, and the puppy cake. Can’t wait to see what you do!

    Also, I’m going to link to this post from my blog at:
    http://beastandbugcakes.blogspot.com/

    Yum!

  8. rachel June 19, 2008 at 1:24 am #

    I found the link again, http://extra-icing.blogspot.com/2008/06/new-tutorial-is-on-way.html, I don’t think she has video links, but I don’t remember.

  9. rachel June 19, 2008 at 1:22 am #

    I think the online classes are a great idea depending on the price. There is a woman in Europe who offers some classes online about sculpting cakes, they aren’t terribly expensive, but I have been hesitant to purchase the class only because I am not sure of the detail involved. I would send you a link but my computer crashed and I had it bookmarked there. If you could offer a free preview or a syllabus or something that may be helpful to people like me.

    Also, I live in a fairly populated area but the only classes in town are the Wilton classes, not terribly helpful if you have been decorating awhile and need to learn more modern skills.

    I really like the ideas of the sculpted cake class, the airbrush class, and the fondant purse cake (or a similar none traditional cake)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. fondant | Hottags - June 21, 2008

    […] I need your help, regarding feedback on online cake decorating …For example lets say you already know the basics of cake decorating but would love to learn the basics of fondant then you could purchase and download the basics of fondant class. Or maybe you already know the fondant basics but have …Designer Cakes By Donna – https://cakecreator.wordpress.com […]

  2. fondant | Lasts information - June 21, 2008

    […] I need your help, regarding feedback on online cake decorating …For example lets say you already know the basics of cake decorating but would love to learn the basics of fondant then you could purchase and download the basics of fondant class. Or maybe you already know the fondant basics but have …Designer Cakes By Donna – https://cakecreator.wordpress.com […]

Leave a Reply

