My favorite Cake Decorating Tools include Play Doh Toys

24 Jun

Play Doh tools used in cake decorating

I have had many people ask what are some of my favorite cake decorating tools, when I first got started I had no idea what I was doing but I loved working with fondant, however I did not have all those fancy tools that are on the market for fondant. So I would go to the grocery store and everything I looked at, I would ask myself is there anything I can do with that as far as in cake decorating. I bought straws which have turned out to be one of the things I use regularly, they are great for cutting the end in half and using it to make a mouth on my figurines. Another cool thing I came across was the play doh factory, omg how cool is that I thought to myself. I bought one which only cost me $4.99 and it has been the best $5.00 I have ever spent. I use it to make rope, borders and many other things. My mom bought me a cool kids backpack that was full of different pay doh tools, I was like a kid on christmas day, now your not going to catch me running around town with that little back pack on but I have put those little tools to good use. It had little cutters shaped like fish, flowers and other animals as well as cutters, and little extruders. People see all the play doh toys I have and think that I have regressed back to my childhood. I can remember making fake hamburgers and fries out of play doh as a child and loving it, who would have thought that one day I would have the opportunity to play with fondant which in my opinion is an adults play doh. I guess that may be the reason I love fondant and all the great things that can be made with it. There are soo many things that can be used as a cake decorating tool you just have to use your imagination many of the things in life can be used for other purposes than for which it was created for.

4 Responses to “My favorite Cake Decorating Tools include Play Doh Toys”

  1. Taylor May 25, 2009 at 11:50 pm #

    As everyone else has said… You are very creative! I don’t think I could every do that! I am not very good with my hands… just my feet(I am a soccer player)To make a 3-D Soccer ball would you just make a ball of gum paste then paint the design of a soccer ball? BTW… The finished rose is B-E-A-utiful!!

    • The Sugar Lane May 26, 2009 at 3:50 am #

      Thanks for your kind comments. As far as the 3D soccer ball I am not sure if you intend to make a cake and then cover it in fondant then cut out the black shapes and add them to the correct place on the ball. Or if you are just wanting to make a smaller round gumpaste ball either way just look at a regular soccer ball, take a piece of white paper and make a template for the black shapes and then cut them out seperately then add to the ball it will give it a much nicer affect. Good Luck my friend!!

  2. Yuha October 30, 2008 at 6:54 am #

    I am impressed with your creativity… using play doh tools. I never thought about that. thanks Donna. My kids were planning to buy the sugar shaper tool, which is so pricey in my country Malaysia, for my birthday. Now i can tell them to buy me a cheaper alternative. Thanks again.

  3. Susie August 28, 2008 at 7:24 pm #

    I started in January reading your blog and have loved it. I had to pit stop in June to say I have been going to pick up a play dough kit for a while now and just haven’t done it. I’ve never used anything but buttercream and want to learn more. 🙂
    You are so creative. I’m loving your blog.
    I plan to read the rest of your entries and then when I catch time another day watch all of your videos.
    Thanks so much for sharing your time and talent.
    Susie in northern NY

Leave a Reply

