Cookies make a great Baby Shower Favor and are Easy to make at Home

1 Jul

 By Donna Lane

 

Sugar Cookies are always a great idea to make for an upcoming Baby Shower. The cookies I did were made with a onesie cookie cutter. They are very easy to make and can be decorated to match any theme and color. You can cover your cookies with icing, fondant or even sprinkle them with powdered sugar, the cookies I created were covered in a marshmallow fondant that I make myself. A very easy way to cut out your fondant is to use the same cookie cutter that you used to cut the cookies out. Use a paintbrush to put a very small amount of water on the back side of your fondant before laying on the cookie this will help it to stick. The next thing I used to add the details was royal icing. I put it in a decorators bag and used a wilton tip number 2 to outline the cookie and add different details. After my cookies set up and dried I dusted them with some luster dust just to add a little shine. Once all finished put them into a  clear cellophane bag and tie them with some ribbon, you could even add a little tag that you can make on your computer with a message that says Celebrating the arrival of a new baby girl, boy or even the name that the parents may have already picked out. There are many little ways that you can add details to your baby shower favors. 

If you have any question regarding my cookies or need further help, feel free to email me and I will get back to you as soon as I can.

Happy Creating!

Donna

You can find my recipes that I use for the cookies, fondant,  etc. in the recipe section here on my site.

8 Responses to “Cookies make a great Baby Shower Favor and are Easy to make at Home”

  1. Ann January 1, 2013 at 5:07 pm #

    Can you share the recipe that you use for sugar cookies? I am hoping to make these cookies for my best friend’s baby shower. Thanks!

  2. Gerri Dando January 6, 2011 at 8:39 pm #

    Hi Donna, I love these onsie cookie baby shower favors and elected myself to make 40 for a baby shower next weekend. I have tried to make them already and it wan harder than I thought (way harder!) i used already made sugar cookie dough and did not roll it out so 4 out of 10 cookies looked like a onsie where the remaining cookies shape were hard to figure out. Then decorating was tough – I used frosting in a bag with the wilton tip. My question is it will take me a long time to cook and decorate, how far ahead can I make the cookies so they won’t be stale? Thanks and any other advice you can offer would be greatly appreciated. Gerri Dando

    • The Sugar Lane January 8, 2011 at 9:30 am #

      See my post on the front page of my blog for the answer since this is one of those situations that people run into quite often!!

  3. Janine February 4, 2009 at 7:57 pm #

    what kind of cookie dough brand do you buy?

    • Gerri January 7, 2011 at 2:02 am #

      Pillsbury

    • The Sugar Lane January 8, 2011 at 9:28 am #

      For Cookie recipes I actually use a recipe….I don’t mind store bought but every now and then I would rather have the homemade kind……

      • Gerri Dando February 8, 2011 at 2:59 am #

        Hello,
        Thank you for your reply – I ended up making home made dough, the cookies were a big hit and I felt like a real pro decorating – much easier to make than i had expected and delicious too. Love your Blog.

        • The Sugar Lane February 22, 2011 at 4:24 am #

          Awesome Gerri I am soo happy that everything turned out for your cookies and that they were a big hit there is no greater feeling of accomplishment when something you put your heart into turns out great and the fact that everyone loved them…..YEAHHHH for you my friend!

Leave a Reply

