Update, My Online Cake Decorating Video Classes are Coming Soon and Other Info

30 Jul

Hi everyone,

I thought I would give you an update on whats been going on in my world. Some of may already know but back in April my house flooded because my dishwasher went a little wacko and the valve stuck causing the dishwasher to continually refill, with the water pouring out the front bottom for approx. 7 hrs. I came home to my own personal river flowing through my house. I had no idea what would lie ahead for me and my family. We were told we should call one of those companies that does water cleanup they came out and began pulling out carpeting and setting up fans and many pieces of drying equipment. We ended up having to stay in a hotel for 8 days. Once back home we have been going through the process of having our home remodeled. The kitchen which has become the most important room in the house for me as I am sure many of you can understand why. My cabinets were removed along with the flooring due to the water damage, so I have been having a heck of a time doing my cake decorating out of a box for the past few months. I finally got new carpeting thru-out the house about a month ago and this made me feel soo much better, but in my mind I’m thinking that is nice but I NEED my kitchen back!!!  This little flood really has me thinking about all of those who have lost EVERYTHING in a flood and my heart goes out to them, I cannot imagine having to go through such a nightmare and I must say my situation does not even begin to compare to what most people have to endure. May God help them all!!! Finally 2 weeks ago the flooring in the kitchen was completed, I was doing the happy dance cause this meant we were on our way to a complete kitchen.  After the longest weekend ever, since the flooring was laid the contractor showed up ready to install cabinets on that Monday morning I have to say the sound of his drill became music to my ears if you know what I mean, I was soo ready to give him a huge hug! After 2 long weeks of one issue after another I am so happy to say I have a fully operational kitchen again finally after almost 4 months. It has been such a long road and I am the happiest person in the world right now. I sat in the kitchen today and imagined baking and decorating in it omg, it is sooo pretty and I am SOO grateful for my new kitchen. There are still some minor things that need to be completed but I can bake and decorate and this makes me sooo happy.

I remember thinking back when this first happened, Why me? It did not occur to me at that time but after talking with my mother who had been referring to this situation all along as a positive experience which left me thinking yeah, positive for you cause its not happening to you! I have begun to realize that sometimes bad things happen so that good can come out of it afor us nd in this situation it really did. Insurance ended up covering all the expenses that we have incurred as a result of the flood. And I now have new carpeting and a totally new kitchen along with MANY blessings along the way during the process. I must say that the number one factor that has been emphasized throughout this entire process was PATIENCE!

Now onto to the important details!!!! While all the work was going on in my house it gave me the opportunity to begin the job of constructing the website that I told you all that I was thinking of doing with the online video classes. I was blown away by all the feedback I have received from all of you, as well as those who found my post while searching up the wilton classes online.  So I decided to move forward with my idea and get this thing rolling because everyone wants it done NOW!!! Things are moving right along, however it is alot of work but its getting there. I have been asked by many where they can find my video classes, I promise they are coming I have been taping some really awesome segments and some of which many of you have asked to see. So hang in there with me I along with my son and mother are all working as quickly as we can to get this site up and running. Don’t worry you will be the first ones I annouce it to since you all have been the ones to stand beside me all along and working with me to make it happen by providing your feedback, ideas, tips and so on. I am working night and day now to get this site up and running along with countless hours of taping of a variety of cake decorating how to’s. If you ever have any suggestions for the website that I’m working on please feel free to email me any time I really value the input and feedback I recieve from each and every one of you. I have received some great ideas from you all and will be implementing alot of them into the new website. 

I have told some of you already but I will say it again, if you are ever in the columbus, Ohio let me know. I love getting the opportunity to meet you and spend the day talking about cake decorating as well as exchanging ideas. I am going to close for now, but I want you all to know that you made our first giveaway a big success, and there will be more in the future. Ohh and another little secret, we are going to have giveaways weekly on the new website so be prepared to recieve!!!! Ok guys I will speak with you soon, until then Happy Creating.

Donna

13 Responses to “Update, My Online Cake Decorating Video Classes are Coming Soon and Other Info”

  1. Hallie March 9, 2010 at 1:38 pm #

    Great stuff. thesugarlane.com is amazing.

  2. Cathy Missey June 14, 2009 at 5:33 pm #

    Just wondered if you have started the online classes yet?
    Ready to join!!
    Cathy in Alaska

  3. Rajul January 27, 2009 at 9:45 pm #

    want to ask from where i can take online classes and what whould be the fees for that and what i will be able to learn about making cakes and also decorating them.

    • Donna Lane January 28, 2009 at 9:06 pm #

      The online cake classes will be offered on my new website at http://www.cakedecoratingwithdonna.com
      there is a monthly fee of $21.95 to become a member and then you get to attend the live online classes and get access to the online cake videos as well as receive a free how to video every month and many other exciting features that we are offering!!

  4. Donna Lane September 1, 2008 at 8:25 am #

    Trish I do not do local classes at this time however do plan to do so eventually.

    Susie I do not have pics of my new kitchen up yet but will soon.

  5. Susie August 28, 2008 at 7:29 pm #

    How sad about the flood in yet how wonderful that with patience you ended up with so many ‘new’ things.
    Being new here and not having gone through all the posts, do you have a place that shows photos of your kitchen?????
    Thanks,
    Susie in northern NY who is equally excited about getting time for the video classes. 🙂

  6. Trish Halt August 25, 2008 at 7:07 pm #

    Donna,
    Im in columbus(hilliard) and would love to know if you offer classes, or can recommend a place to take them in the area?

    I have taken classes before in dayton, at Cake craft, and would like a refresher course.

    Thanks!

    Trish

  7. Priya August 9, 2008 at 3:52 am #

    Dear Donna,
    I was very fascinated with your decorations. I found your website while looking for cake toppers for my sons first birthday. I have ordered his cake from a friend who cannot make any decorations on it and so its going to be a simple round chocoflan cake.
    Your creativity has left me thinking of how wonderfully I could translate this simple cake with decorations on top. I have chosen a puppy theme and loved the puppies you have made.
    Is it possible to buy the characters from you and would you be able to ship them to New York?
    I look forward to hearing from you.
    Regards
    Priya

  8. rachescakes August 6, 2008 at 12:45 am #

    I haven’t signed up yet, my brother’s wedding is the next weekend and I haven’t decided if I want to be out of town 2 weekends in a row yet. I’ll let you know if I do end up deciding to go. It would be nice to have someone to meet up with.

  9. Donna Lane July 31, 2008 at 6:01 am #

    Yes, I am a member and I will be going to the day of sharing in sept. If you do end up coming let me know and we can meet up and go together so your not nervous

  10. rachel July 30, 2008 at 10:07 pm #

    Hey, are you a member of ICES? Even though I don’t live in OH, I am thinking about going to the Sept. day of sharing. It’s about 3 hours from here, I think. I am such a novice I am a little nervous about going but figure it will be a great way to learn.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. wilton cake decorating - August 5, 2008

    […] my dishwasher went a little wacko and the valve stuck causing the dishwasher to continually refillhttps://cakecreator.wordpress.com/2008/07/30/update-my-online-cake-decorating-video-classes-are-comin…Express line (Orlando Sentinel)Spirited green […]

Leave a Reply

