Miniature Fondant Purses make great Cup Cake Toppers

13 Sep

 

I had some extra fondant left over so I thought I would use it up and decided that I would create some miniature purses and a pair of high heeled shoes. These would be great to add as a small scene for a cake topper, but I think what I am going to do is use them as cupcake toppers due to their size. Who would not love having custom designed sugar purses as the theme on their cupcake. They would be perfect for a teenagers themed party. But being a person who loves purses of all kinds I know that I would enjoy them as theme for a party for myself. I love the fact that you can use fondant/gumpaste to create cutom designs for that special event. Now a days you see soo many different parties for all sorts of celebrations and being a cake decorator who has the abilty to create these custom designs you will be in much demand as people love to have cakes and cupcakes that tell a story about their favorite things in life as well as the things that are important to them.

 Cake Decorating is more than decorating cakes it really is an art that uses sugar as the medium to create almost anything that is seen in everyday life. With a little imagination you can create custom sugar miniatures that will be the talk of the party. There are many companies that specialize in sugar miniatures as well as miniature cakes. Some tend to think that purchasing a miniature cake would be a way to keep cost down to a minimum for an upcoming event however that is not the case. If you have ever created miniature cakes you know that it takes much more time than it would to create a regular sized cake, because the smaller the object the tougher it is to get it covered in icing or fondant. So be aware if you are planning to purchase anything miniature in sugar form you can expect to pay more than you would for say an average sized cake.

Since I am talking about minatures I thought I would tell you about a company that creates miniature cakes that are just too adorable to eat. The companies name is Cupcake Envy and they have made a name for themselves and are seen in magazines everywhere as well as all over the internet. You can take a look at some of their deisgns at cupcakeenvy.com. Their designs start at $25 a serving with most of their deigns serving either 1-2 or 3-4. I love all their creations as well as all the details that they add to each mini cake. It shows you the sky is the limit with cakes these days.

10 Responses to “Miniature Fondant Purses make great Cup Cake Toppers”

  1. rosa hernandez September 22, 2012 at 6:39 pm #

    i love these molds. i would like to know if you have ambulance molds..help.i am making a cake for my son. after paramedic school.

    • The Sugar Lane September 27, 2012 at 5:39 pm #

      Rosa I do not!

      • Rosa hernandez September 28, 2012 at 10:07 am #

        Thank You

      • Rosa hernandez October 26, 2012 at 6:41 pm #

        I would like to know did you have a fondant mold for the purse and high heel

        • The Sugar Lane October 27, 2012 at 2:52 pm #

          Hello to you Rosa!!

          I did not use a mold for these miniature shoes and purses….I did the heels by creating shapes and putting them together. The purses I rolled out my fondant and then gathered pieces of the fondant to create the different purses.

  2. Amanda October 27, 2009 at 10:46 pm #

    Hi Donna,
    Would you be willing to make some soldier figurines for me?

  3. Nina Davis Peebles June 17, 2009 at 12:09 am #

    Donna,

    I am trying to be a self taught cake decorator it started out I did not have the money to buy my son a first birthday cake so I decided to make one. It turned out wonderful so I started dabbling in decorating. I have yet to tackle fondant until this week and now I have a graduation cake to do and I have to do a nurses cap, diploma, and marine symbol for the decorations. I have enjoyed looking at your site and I am bookmarking it for future use! Wish me luck and I am sure I will be in touch.

    Nina

    • The Sugar Lane July 27, 2009 at 6:00 am #

      Nina I am sure that you will do a fantastic job and I do wish you the very best!!!

  4. Ana Calderon February 11, 2009 at 4:02 pm #

    Hi Donna,

    I was looking at your mini purses and they are adorable. My friends 40th Birthday is coming up soon and I am going to try to attempt on making her a purse cake and I also want to make the mini’s as little party favors. Any suggestions and help you could give me? She loves red, so I’m going to make her a red purse.

    Thank you for your website. I love it!
    Ana ;o)

    • Maryna July 16, 2009 at 2:09 pm #

      Hi, I’m from Namibia and I enjoy cake decorating so much! If you want to make miniatures, I usually use choclate molds, you get very nice ones, add all little tylose (glue gum) and a teaspoon of eggwhite to make it hard. The you just press it into this choclate molds and whalla! you have a nice miniature. You can colour your gumpaste with the colour you like.

Leave a Reply

