Just a little update

17 Sep

Hello all!!

I know it has been silent here on my end, and I wanted to just give a little update on whats been going on in my world. As you all know Hurricane Ike hit the US with a vengenance and then made his way north into the midwest. He paid a little visit to Ohio and left a big mark with winds in the excess of over 70 miles an hour which to us is HUGE!! The greater part of Ohio has been in the dark as well as myself. You never realize just how lucky we are to have electricity until it goes off. It has been tough, but not near as rough as those in Texas and Lousiana have had it, my prayers go out to all of many people in those areas. I am so grateful that things are not worse for us here in Ohio. It caught me by surprise on Sunday, I was taking an afternoon nap and woke up to what sounded like my roof being ripped off. Thankfully the roof was not taken off however shingles were flying all over like birds around our property. Then the siding started to peel off the house as the high winds continued for hours, I did not think it would ever end. We lost a few of our trees but I am grateful they were not close to the house. We live in the country and have a corn field beside and behind us so I think that made the winds thats much worse cause there was nothing to block it. So we will now begin the process of dealing with insurance to get these things taken care of. I am soo grateful it was not worse. I would never want to go through a hurricane ever!! I also had some other family issues that I have been dealing with in the midst of all of this and I am so glad that life is looking up again finallly, thank God!!

Finally today the power has come back on for us, and we are soooo happpyyyy!!! The funny thing is all the times I procrastinate and think I wil do this or that later, then once the power is off you think well I could get this or that done, but without power you can’t do anything. I guess I can now be thankful and get things done that have been waiting for my attention.

I want to thank Elaine for calling today to check on me that really made my day that you woud think about me and wonder why I had not responded to your emails, thanks for caring!! I will be getting down with the computer, I really did miss being online.

I will be back to posting regularly again and sharing some awesome cake stuff with you all!!

Donna

3 Responses to “Just a little update”

  1. Garnet September 30, 2008 at 10:53 pm #

    Hi Donna Glad to hear y and your family is alright. Just a short question, if I may. I’m interested in makeing a designer cake purse. would u have book ordvd on this topic.

    And I prefer working with fondant.

    Gee Thanks Donna for any info…

  2. Donna Lane September 17, 2008 at 11:18 pm #

    OMG I cannot even imagine driving in that wind being in a house while it was going on was bad enough!! Thanks so much Rachel.

  3. Rachel September 17, 2008 at 11:17 pm #

    Glad to hear you are OK. We drove across Ohio in that wind, it wasn’t fun. Several thousand people just west of here are still without power, we were lucky at my house, the lights never even blinked.

Leave a Reply

