What is an Icing Plug and How to make one!

29 Sep

I learned a way to ice a cake without getting your icing bag dirty and thought I would share it with all my favorite sugar buddies. I call them Icing Plugs cause I could not come up with a better name!! They make decorating a cake sooo much cleaner and the nice thing is you can use several colors and not have to have several icing bags. I took pictures so you all could see exactly how to do this.

Start off with your buttercream icing or whatever icing you choose to use.

 

 

Roll out a sheet of saran wrap or any other brand you may have on hand.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Place a few spoon fools of Buttercream icing in the middle of your saran wrap.

 

 

 

 

 

Fold the one side of the saran wrap over the icing and then roll into a tubular shape. Make sure to leave room at the top and bottom of the icing.

 

Knot one end of the saran wrap very tightly.

The other end leave open, but trim the saran wrap off, so that you have just a small amout of wrap at the end.

 

 

 

 

 

Place the open end of your icing plug down into your icing bag, and then twist the top of your bag as normal to push all the icing down in to area where your tip is.

 

 

 

 

 

Then you can begin to ice your cake as you normally would. When your icing plug is empty remove and throw away. What I do is make up several with all the colors I will be using, then store them in the refrigerator until I need them, the nice thing is you will not have to have several icing bags with all the colors and all the mess.  I showed pics using the tip to do the sides of my cake however you can use the icing plugs on any bag with any tip without the hassle of changing bags and colors. Hope this helped and gave you a few ideas to make the decorating job a little easier.

4 Responses to “What is an Icing Plug and How to make one!”

  1. Lisa Damon June 23, 2009 at 7:23 am #

    Hi Donna,

    I adore your website! I was hoping you may now of someone, (or perhaps you?) that sells already made sugar cake toppers. I’m hosting a baby shower and would love to purchase something like the little baby in the bed that you created. Please advise.

    Thanks in advance,
    Lisa

  2. Beatrice September 30, 2008 at 1:42 pm #

    Great idea. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Neryl September 30, 2008 at 6:35 am #

    What a good tip this is..makes me want to get back into baking!

  4. Rachel September 29, 2008 at 11:44 pm #

    I have heard them called bullets. It is a handy trick!

Leave a Reply

