A Fondant/Gumpaste tip for you!!

20 Mar

closeupofsugarflowersI just wanted to share a little tip that I use in cake decorating that some of you may not be aware of!

I know that alot of you create Gumpaste Flowers and such so I thought I share with you my little tip how I color my gumpaste creations with chalk since it  is easier on the pocket than using luster dust and such.  I purchase and use chalk to color my flowers, and such. Chalk is already made as non-toxic because children have a tendency to eat it. You can purchase a bucket of very nice colored sidewalk chalk right now for under $5 because of the spring season. Versus what $3.00- 4.00  for a very small amount of luster and petal dust. I still use the luster dust on my cakes but the chalk is perfect for those misc objects that are not eaten!

 What I do is take a stick of chalk and hold it over a paper plate then use a knife to shave along the edge of the chalk until you have a small pile on the plate.

Then use a dry paintbrush to dip into the chalk powder and paint the edges of your sugar flowers, and such.

You can even purchase small containers with lids to store your shaved chalk in.

Ckalk comes in some very nice pastel colors and the blue color that comes with most packages of chalk is just awesome on sugar flowers. It is my favorite!  Notice the Blue colored Roses in the picture above, that is the blue I am talkig about…All of the flowers in this arrangement have been dusted with chalk except for the yellow flower and that was made with yellow gumpaste.

Make sure that you check the packaging when you purchase your chalk to make sure it says non-toxic on it!

I have tried the different name brand chalks and the off brands I have not noticed any difference in them at all.

I thought that you may be interested in my little tip since we are all looking for ways to save a few dollars here and there.

 

Have a great Weekend

Donna

5 Responses to “A Fondant/Gumpaste tip for you!!”

  1. T Bennett January 9, 2010 at 3:10 am #

    You can also use non-toxic artist grade chalk pastels which give a deeper color and more color choices. It is also not dangerous. What do you think the petal dust is made of?

    You wouldn’t want to eat gum paste flowers, but they do make nice keepsakes and will last for years if protected.

  2. Natalia November 9, 2009 at 1:06 pm #

    hi Donna,
    This is such a great tip, thank you for sharing. It is ABSOLUTELY impossible to get petal dust in my country (as well as anything else related to gumpaste) and most of the sellers on Amazon and Ebay don’t ship to here either 😦 So i have to invent ways and substitute things. I tried using pastels but they don’t shave into as fine dust as petal dust and don’t disolve well either. Now Im going to try chalk, thank you very VERY much for this.
    N

  3. Shaun September 14, 2009 at 1:21 pm #

    Great idea! I actually used chalk a few years back to color some iris’ for a wedding cake. I was going to try and use the edible powdered colors, but CANNOT find them anywhere in the major city I am close to. So this week I am going to color some fall leaves i made with powdered chalk. I see nothing wrong with using it on flowers that will not be eaten.

  4. The Sugar Lane March 26, 2009 at 8:02 pm #

    Gumpaste Flowers are not meant to be eaten at all, therefore there should be no issue with having issues from using it on your flowers. I do not use it in the food per say but on pieces that are never eaten.

    If there is such an issue with chalk then it should be pulled off the market cause I see children with it in their mouths and such all the time….

  5. kw March 26, 2009 at 7:01 pm #

    i would certainly not do that. most of the chalk today is made in china, where the regulations on food are already very lax. if the regulations on food are lax, you can imagine that there is little to no oversight over things that are not meant to be eaten. if its not meant to be eaten, i would certainly NOT use it in food.

Leave a Reply

