Miniature Flower Pot Cake covered in Gumpaste Flowers

24 Mar

Donna's Miniature Flower Pot CakeHere is a recent cake I made, a minature flower pot with gumpaste flowers.

I used a 3 in round cutter to cut 2 circles of cake out of a sheetcake and then stacked the 2 circles. I then sculpted the bottom circle so that it would curve inward like a real flower pot. Next I crumb coated the entire cake and put in the refrigerator to setup for approx 20-30 minutes. While waiting for the cake to setup I began cutting my gumpaste flowers out with a flower cutter and veiner set I purchased from global sugar art. I also cut out 6 leaves as well and then let them all setup in spoons to dry. I use a regular teaspoon so that my flowers will have a certain form once dried.

Once the cake had setup I rolled out my fondant which I had colored with orange and brown food colorings to get the correct shade of color for the flower pot. Covering the flower pot with fondant can be a little tricky because it is soo small, but if you work at it then it should be just fine. I then cut a strip of fondant to go around the top edge of the flower pot for the rim.

Next I covered the top of the flower pot with buttercream so that it would be easier to attach the flowers, then begin adding the flowers all over the top of the flower pot.

Once all finished I decided to create the perfect presentation for my flower pot cake by placing it in a treat bag and tying the top with  curling ribbon into a bow.

A miniature Flower Pot Cake would make a great personal gift for that special someone!!

 

Donna

mini flower pot cake

2 Responses to “Miniature Flower Pot Cake covered in Gumpaste Flowers”

  1. jennifer November 21, 2013 at 11:56 am #

    Hi did you make the flowers well in advance ? is it easier to arrange it while it is soft ? or dry ?

  2. Linda November 6, 2009 at 12:30 am #

    That is a cute flower pot with the flowers. I am looking for flowers made from gum paste that I am doing for cake lesson online. I like the idea. I am thinking about trying it myself. I would like different things like that.

Leave a Reply

