Christmas Cookie Tradition

17 Dec

Its that time of year again! I love Christmas as much as the next person and with it comes all the different traditions that many of us welcome each Christmas season. We had our day of decorating Christmas cookies and let me tell you it was a day pack full of Sugar! We started with a tasty sugar dough and began cutting out dough with our favorite cookie cutters as well as those who decided to create cookies free-handed, without the use of cookie cutters and then came several different icings. I am one of those people who like more and this tends to get m in trouble, I could have used one icing for the sugar cookies, but NOO I had to have several different ones……so everyone had to sit and watch as I pulled out my recipes and ingredients for the different icings that I like to use, included was regular buttercream which is great on sugar cookies, but I love, love cream cheese icing on sugar cookies it just goes perfect with the cookies and then I wanted to use poured fondant since the taste is divine, then finally a regular for most, royal icing!

Each year my boys look forward to decorating cookies as we have done since my oldest was 2 yrs old.  Every yr we always end up adding others to our day of decorating Christmas Cookies and this year was no different many of the boys friends joined us for our favorite Christmas Tradiiton……Jake, Andy, Mike D, and Evan. in addition my Mom joined us and boy was I grateful  for that since she jumped right in and helped me with making the icings and baking the cookies that we were creating.  I must point out that this year was a little different since we added a  new member to  the family,  that person is my son Ryan’s  fiance Casey, she is truly a gift from God and I adore her. She also jumped right in and joined us in our yearly Christmas tradition…..we truly had the time of our lives decorating Christmas Cookies together and created some great holiday memories that I will never forget. I hope you enjoy all the different holiday traditions that you and your family share together this Christmas Season!!

Below I will share some of the pics from our special day together!

 

Happy Holidays!

5 Responses to “Christmas Cookie Tradition”

  1. John Hillson December 29, 2010 at 11:28 pm #

    The gingerbread house for the hospital came out great again this year, and I’m grateful for the hints you gave me on how ot make my own figurines. Anyone asks me where I learned to make them, and I give you all credit and refer people to your website.

    I’m very proud of my Santa in a chimmney, which I couldn’t have done if you hadn’t told me about a using a garlic press with fondant!

  2. Angie December 22, 2010 at 2:41 am #

    Happened to come across your website and love it. Wow your boys are really into it. Will continue to visit your website from time to time.

  3. Rachelle December 17, 2010 at 5:23 pm #

    I was wondering if you can answer a question for me. I am trying to make fleur de lis candy molds with fondant that I have to paint gold. But the fondant is sticking in the molds so I have to figure out how to or what to coat the molds with to get them out. If I use a tiny bit of cooking spray in the molds then press the fondant, will I be able to still paint them with the cooking spray? I wasn’t sure if the paint would stick well or not.

    • The Sugar Lane December 17, 2010 at 10:18 pm #

      Hello Rachelle

      I would use a little cornstarch or powdered sugar in the mold that way you can still paint on the fondant, I also think that the cooking spray would repel the paint. Also the way I do sometimes is to take the mold with the fondant in it and pop it into the freezer for about 10 minutes, this will not affect the fondant within this timeframe and will make it easier to pop the piece out of the mold.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Christmas Cookie Tradition | How to Decorate Cakes Easy and Beautifully!!! - March 15, 2011

    […] The Sugar Lane This entry was posted in cake decorating rss feed and tagged baby shower cakes, decorating […]

Leave a Reply

