Entering a cake show, my fondant animal book and some other ramblings from my world.

5 Feb

Hello to everyone out there in the wonderful world of Sugar!!!  I hope that you are doing well, and things are going as best as possible with the way things are in the world today. I have learned that I cannot worry about it all and must keep myself focused on the things that are most important. So my focus is on God, my family, friends, relationships, and my cake world….and all the rest well I refuse to allow it to stop me from being who God created me to be.

 I am working on some ideas for an upcoming cake show I want to enter…this will be my second one. I am soo stressed trying to figure out what categories to enter, then how many I should enter. Last year I entered 2 cakes and did rather well. Most importantly I need to decide what kinds of cakes I should make.  I’m not sure if you do this but when I have the opportunity to do whatever kind of cake that I want I get myself all worked up. If I could draw you a map of all the different ideas I have had in mind you would just flip, I am literally ALL over the board as they say. I think the issue is that I have soo many ideas.

I keep a notebook for cake decorating with pictures of cakes that I want to do, lists of ideas that I have come up with, and then drawings of ideas that I have had from time to time so I keep all this info together in a notebook.  Since back in the beginning I would have an idea only to let a few days pass and I could not for the life of me remember what the idea was. So that was when I decided to keep it all together in a notebook which 2 years later this thing has quite a collection of ideas. Now that I want to enter the cake show as I have said I am all over the place with ideas and I can’t seem to make a decision because there are soo many great ideas. I asked my family and boy were they alot of help, they told me whatever I decide will be great.

So this is a little of whats going on in my world right now along with making new how to videos, online tutorials and my top priority which I have been working on for some time, my book! I am so excited that I am finally almost there…I had started this project and intended it to be done last year but my computer crashed and I lost every photo that I had for the book, as you can imagine I was devastated and cried for days. I felt that maybe I was not supposed to do the book but after much encouragement from my family and of course all my great cake friends I started ALL over….ughhh what a chore. Wow putting a book together is sooo much work, I had no idea. I believe that in the end it will be worth it, there are so many that have written me and said please don’t give up on the idea, they feel that there are no other great fondant animals book on the market and are waiting for me to get mine finished. I guess I should get moving just wanted to check in with you all and give you a quick update. I have some more cake pictures to share just need to find time to get them uploaded…….

11 Responses to “Entering a cake show, my fondant animal book and some other ramblings from my world.”

  1. click here June 3, 2012 at 6:31 am #

    Is it fine to place a portion of this in my personal site if I publish a reference to this web site?

  2. Melissa April 12, 2011 at 6:27 pm #

    I am very new at making wedding cakes. I have been doing birthday, baby shower, bacholor and bacholorette cakes for awhile now. I have made one wedding cake and everyone loved it.(I think it was a pretty simple one, it was with fresh flowers) the cake I’m doing now is with gumpaste flowers, gerbera daiseys, calla lilys, and roses. 4 tier heart shape. My question is, What and how do you know what to charge? They also want butter cream icing, I think it should be fondant so it is smoother looking what do you think? I think it is the taste of the fondant they are leary of. Thank you for any help, suggestions or comments.

    • The Sugar Lane April 18, 2011 at 12:51 pm #

      Melissa,

      Here on my blog is a page that is called pricing your cakes and that should give you a good start on pricing your cakes. As far as which to use buttercream or fondant, that depends on what they want…… yes fondant gives a beautiful finish to cakes, however as you indicated some are so leary of the taste…what I always did is to allow them to sample the fondant I used when I did a cake tasting with them….give them a sample of cake with fondant and a sample with your buttercream and allow them to choose which they like best. In the beginning I used to make my own marshmallow fondant however once you get very busy with cakes it can become a huge time issue which for me it was, so I purchased Satin Ice brand of fondant for my cakes. I wish you the Best Melissa……..

      D

  3. shirley February 5, 2011 at 7:09 pm #

    Hi I am new to this site. I find it very helpful . I to am all over the place and it is really hard to concentrate on one thing. I starting creating animal figures and I’m learning to do wedding bride and groom. I have only been at it a cple months and found that I am pretty good at this. I have taken bits and pieces of all the web sites that I have been on. And came up with my own ideas how things should be done,.
    There is very little out there to really get the right ideas. But I will keep on trucking.

    Shirley

    • The Sugar Lane February 22, 2011 at 4:36 am #

      Shirley when I started I had not a clue to be honest…..I never intended to do cakes let alone do any sort of sculting of figures. It was one of those things that I call a suddenly, some have heard of them, anyway….suddenly one day it all happened and I could NOT get enough info anywhere I looked, which is the reason I started blogging about my cakes and such as well as created my website http://www.cakedecoratingwithdonna.com. I was so lost and I found that most people I would ask did not want to share any info with me…its soo funny you would have thought I was asking to infiltrate the CIA or something, lol…..I have to say that most of my knowledge came stratight from God above, I have never taken a class to this day. I am truly blessed with this gift and I share as much as I can!!! I wish you all the best my friend as you carve your own path into the world of sculpting figures!

      I will let you know that I am putting together a LIVE class that will be free for anyone who wants to watch online very soon, it will be all about getting started with sculpting figures and the needed tools as well as some of my secrets that I have come to use on my pieces that I have never shared publicly. If you would like I can add you to my list of those who want to be emailed when I have all the info together for the Free Live Online Class….let me know by commenting below….I do not email anyone without their prior consent!!

      Have a blessed day my friend,
      Donna

  4. jennie February 5, 2011 at 12:27 pm #

    Hi there i think your work is amazing. What a talent! why get so stressed! you have been given your talent by god to share with others. You want to share your belief in God with us, so share your talent with us. Deep breaths and prayers help. It always turns out right on the day, so ‘chins’ up and ‘go for it’ my lass. Life is toooo short to worry and get stressed. God Bless i wish you well.i am writing to you from Scotland xx

    • The Sugar Lane February 22, 2011 at 5:27 am #

      Jennie from Scotland…..I could not wait to respond to your comment!!! You gave me such a huge smile my friend….I was having a really tough week and you know those days that seem to just weigh ya down. I always try my best to be a positive person and I always tell others that you must remain positive, watch the words you allow out of your mouth they contain soo much power. I needed some of my own medicine I guess you could say, lol. But I was being honest in that post I made. Your soo right everything you said just pierced my heart when I saw your comment. I have never fully shared my story with all my sugar friends I guess you could say I’m a little nervous to but once I do you will understand alot of the reasons I get myself soo stressed about things. I have always wanted people to see my work not me, but have come to realize they are one in the same. I have known for the past 2 yrs since I started doing cakes and sculpting figures that I was supposed to share my story but never have. So since am writing a reply to you I want you to know that your reply was an answer to prayer and that I will share with the world my story and the reason I am doing cakes and sculpting figures. Thanks for your comment on my work Jennie it means alot to me!! Your quite a woman, I do not know you but I get the sense in my heart that I do, I hope I get the opportunity to meet you some day my friend!!

      May you always be blessed!!
      Donna

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Entering a cake show, my fondant animal book and some other ramblings from my world. | How to Decorate Cakes Easy and Beautifully!!! - March 15, 2011

    […] The Sugar Lane This entry was posted in cake decorating rss feed and tagged baby shower cakes, decorating […]

Leave a Reply

