Shoebox Cake and Zebra Print High Heel Sugar Shoe

6 May

 

I recently made a Shoe Box Cake along with a Gum Paste High Heel with a Zebra Print decoration…..this was a fun cake to create and the first time that I created a zebra print shoe. I made this cake for a very good friend of mine who has been going through some tough times in life and I was so excited to make a cake that was all about her. She is one of those people that loves shoes!!!  I created a label for the shoe box from my edible printer and attached to the end of the cake. To add a little pizzazz to the box shape I decided to add edible sugar diamonds across the front side of the cake and I think that it turned out pretty cute. There were some areas on the cake that I was not too happy with but overall I guess it isn’t too bad. To create the zebra print….I rolled out black Satin Ice Fondant and took an exacto knife to cut squiggly lines and placed those shapes into place on the shoe which you can see in the pics that I have attached.

I purchased the edible sugar diamonds at www.globalsugarart.com for those who are interested……

Shoebox Cake With Sugar ShoeGumpaste Zebra Print High Heel

 
5 Responses to “Shoebox Cake and Zebra Print High Heel Sugar Shoe”

  1. Andrea September 12, 2011 at 2:16 am #

    What a beautiful cake, I made one and it dod not compare to yours!! You are very talented

  2. Emily July 3, 2011 at 10:48 pm #

    Could you tell me how to make a gumpaste high heel? Yours is gorgeous and I’ve never made one but want to. Thanks!!!

  3. Connie M Bolda May 12, 2011 at 11:22 am #

    Your zebra shoe is lovely – where can I get the high heel form to make the shoe?

    • The Sugar Lane September 14, 2011 at 2:05 am #

      The best way to create a high heel shoe is to start with an old high heel that you may have on hand…..take it apart and use the base as your form to begin creating with gumpaste.

    • The Sugar Lane September 14, 2011 at 2:06 am #

      The best way to create a high heel shoe is to start with an old high heel that you may have on hand…..take it apart and use the base as your form

Leave a Reply

