Making a Graduation Cap

21 Mar

I am posting this info for Sam, she is a 17 yr old who is very interested in Cake Decorating and she is going to create a Graduation Cap for her gradation this May, so I am posting a few pics to guide her in doing this, as well as anyone else who is interested!

I took a Styrofoam ball and cut it in half then covered it  in fondant as well as both side of the cardboard….if you would like for the cap to be edible, you can use rice krispy treats formed into a half ball shape instead of using Styrofoam.

Here is the Graduation Cap all assembled….to glue the pieces together, just use a paint brush with water……

This is the play doh fun factory which is an easy way to create the tassel for the graduation cap…...

5 Responses to “Making a Graduation Cap”

  1. kaizeen September 29, 2013 at 10:26 am #

    hi..
    if you can please help me out.
    I am planning to make a cake which has something to do with coins for my husband. have been trying for quite a while now but am unable to get the shape or the design right.. its just a total mess.
    if you can help me out in anyway. just teach me how to get the shape in fondant or icing.
    really need your help.
    thanks.

  2. mydearbakes April 20, 2012 at 9:58 am #

    Lovely! You make it looked so easy =)

  3. Sam April 10, 2012 at 4:25 pm #

    Thanks. This helps so much. Can’t wait to try it out. ❤

    • Sam June 8, 2012 at 9:50 pm #

      Alright. I got my fondant and cutters and I’ve been researching storage but just keep finding storing actual fondant. Okay. So I’m making mini caps out of rice krispie treats and of course fondant. I have to do it on Thursday though because I won’t have time on Friday, the day I graduate, and will be sleeping all day Saturday until my party. So I was wondering… How do I store the premade graduation caps so they don’t get ruined and the humidity doesn’t effect the fondant? If it makes a difference, I’m using Duff Goldman buttercream fondant.

      • The Sugar Lane June 12, 2012 at 11:25 pm #

        Sam I would just put your graduation caps in a box, I use a bakery box and then just place them in a cool place….they should be just fine!

Leave a Reply

