A little update……….

25 Jul

Many of you have emailed and asked if I am ok since I have not posted in a while and I want to thank those who emailed! Things have been very busy in my world since the beginning of spring, my youngest son graduated high school in May so with that came LOTS of things for me to contend with as you all know. I am just happy to know that all those things that I worked so hard on are behind me now and life has settled down just a bit. Having kids no matter what age they are means things are always rocking in our house, lol. I must admit I am not too happy with all the changes that have entered my life over the past few months. I am so proud that my youngest son is finished with high school but now it is time for the college thing and that brings another set of decisions to iron out so to speak.

Then out of left field my older son was making plans of his own that I had no clue about, until the hubby comes to me and says, you know that Ryan is looking at apartments and planning on moving out very soon….you could have knocked me over with a feather, I was just floored by that news. I know that there are lots of parents that look forward to the day that their kids leave the nest but I have never been one of those people. I guess maybe I am one of those Mom’s who would bribe them by adding a wing on to the house so that they would never leave me. As you can imagine I have been bombarded with sooo many different emotions. Good and Bad!  On one hand we raised him to be able to go out and make it in this world, but on the other hand you just pray that the dreaded day never comes for a long time. HOWEVER that time has come and I must deal with it whether I want to or not since he just found out he and his fiance got the apartment…..NOOOOOO!!!  I am soo very proud of him, he has done everything that me and his dad taught him and now the time has come for him to leave the nest which I honestly understand but it is NOT going to be easy for me and I plan to take out some stock in tissues since I seem to be using lots of them lately….lol I guess you could say there is alot of crying in my icing going on in my world. I know that I will be fine but I realize this is the beginning of change for me and my oldest son. I trust that he is ready to get a place on his own, but It will take me some getting used to.

The only way that I will be able to deal with all these changes going on is to make more cakes and sugar flowers, when the going gets tough for me I immerse myself in what I do best and that is cake decorating. On top of all this my little buddy Teddy,  a 7 yr old Chihuahua who is my world started having alot of seizures, and some other issues so I had to take him in for lots of tests and they found that he has a bad disc in his lower neck and degenerative disc disease in his lower back so he is in pain. Thankfully he has responded well to pain meds and the seizures we have come to figure out are due to an allergy to cheese, so no more cheese for Teddy! I thought I would share a photo of  Teddy, he is soo adorable!!

Teddy

  

Then finally, things began to settle so I thought, hahaha……..Until I started getting these blisters on my back and with them came some ugly pain. I did not understand what all this was so after a trip to the doctor I found out that I had Shingles, my doctor asked, ” have you been under alot of stress lately” and I told her well I guess that is the statement of the day for sure.  I had people in my life over the yrs who had shingles and never really understood what it truly meant well now I have a totally different view and feel for anyone who ever has to endure such pain, it is something that you never forget that is for sure! So I am now focusing on being stress free and getting better. I hope that all of you out there in the cake world are doing well and that you are enjoying the summer months along with taking the time to make some great memories with those you love!

I wish you all my best and hope that you are trying some new cake decorating techniques!

11 Responses to “A little update……….”

  1. kt August 11, 2012 at 7:14 pm #

    Hi,
    First of all I want to thank u from the bottom of my heart. Your recipes are lovely. And u have such a big heart to share them with everyone. And even answer to all our small or big doubts.
    I hope u and everyone in your family is fine now.
    Ill pray to God to give you nothing but happiness.
    Thank u so much once again.
    Take care.

  2. Lyn Hitchins July 26, 2012 at 9:00 am #

    I am so sorry for all the stress you have been under and I know how you feel, my son left home at 18 to go down to London and my world fell apart, he lived with his Grandparents for 2 years and then got himself a flat I worried myself silly, he had some ups and downs but he is now married with a son and a wife that loves him dearly it is just the letting go that us mums struggle with, we can only be there for them if needed.

    • The Sugar Lane October 27, 2012 at 4:20 pm #

      Lyn thanks so much for your story of your son how sweet, it is great that he has done well and has a son and a wife! I agree it is the letting go that is the hardest ever but I am getting better. Thanks again.

  3. Joyce July 25, 2012 at 9:00 pm #

    I’m so sorry you are going through so many transitional things, plus your little baby, Teddy, with his issues and now you, with shingles. I know how painful having your boys leave home can be. I’ve been there and then some. It’s hard while you go through all these life changes, but there is light at the end of the tunnel. Hope you have a speedy recovery from your bout with shingles and that your transitions are smooth and less painful than you anticipated. Best of luck. My thoughts and best wishes are with you.

    • The Sugar Lane October 27, 2012 at 3:50 pm #

      Joyce thanks so much for your sweet comment just want you to know it means the world to me and It is so comforting to know that there are those out there who truly understand. I have made it over the hump per say with my son moving and have been getting used to him not being here. He has made a point to come and visit his momma often and he calls me everyday. The shingles have eased up so i am very grateful. thanks again!

  4. jennie July 25, 2012 at 6:45 pm #

    Hi Donna i am so sorry for your pain…it will get better dear…i know how you are feeling i have been there and the pain was awful but it really will get much easier. You are in my prayer’s my dear God bless xxx

    • The Sugar Lane October 27, 2012 at 3:52 pm #

      Jennie Thanks soo much for you sweet comment I truly appreciate your prayers more than you will ever know! God Bless you my friend!

  5. Louise July 25, 2012 at 6:20 pm #

    Know how you feel…….lost my dear girl (dog) in Feb. due to Lymphoma……she was my baby also. Shingles is very common and painful. IF YOU HAVE HAD CHICKEN POX……THERE IS A VACCINE TO PREVENT SHINGLES CALLED ZOSTAVAX…..Just an fyi…

    • The Sugar Lane October 27, 2012 at 3:58 pm #

      Louise thanks very much for your comment it meant alot to me! Soo sorry to hear about your sweet girl I know that had to be so tough to endure! Thanks for the info, but once you have had active shingles this vaccine is useless, and there are even studies that are showing that people are getting shingles down the road even after getting this vaccine. To be honest the more I research these different vaccines that are being marketed to all of us, the flu, kids, and now the new shingles from what I am finding these vaccines are full of some very bad things that can cause us greater harn so I do not believe in any of them amymore, just my opinion!

  6. leana July 25, 2012 at 6:12 pm #

    Take care of yourself, sound like you need a nice, relaxing vacation.

    • The Sugar Lane October 27, 2012 at 3:59 pm #

      Leana you were sooo right, and I did get my vacation and it made all the difference in the world. I can see clearly now! lol…..

Leave a Reply

