Fondant Dress Baby Shower Cake

15 May

559613_483846488322524_2121003210_n

Here is a cake that I did last fall for my cousin Tanya, her daughter was having a girl so I was excited to be able to do a girly cake. I do apologize the photo quality is not the best to say the least. I had forgotten to take a photo before I placed the cake covering lid on it.

 The cake was a half sheet (9 X 13) covered in buttercream icing.
Several years ago I took a baby’s sun dress and created a template to use for making fondant dresses on cakes, there have been times the template has been too large for the size of the cake I was doing, in that situation I just modified the size of the template to fit the cake. I now have 3 different sized baby dress templates. I use these templates to create the baby dress out of fondant and the put some embellishments on the dress. Honestly this is one of those quick cake ideas that you can literally throw together when you get that last minute order or a family member needs a cake. Since the shoes take the most time you could use something else instead of adding them to the cake to save time. A great idea is to use some lollipop molds made for babies to make some fondant decorations to add to the cake, maybe a baby rattle or some other little toy to complete the look of this quick baby shower cake.  The baby shoes were made out of gumpaste which works much better since I needed them to really harden and setup. Using fondant for the baby shoes would not have worked so well since it does not harden up as well as gumpaste does of course!

2 Responses to “Fondant Dress Baby Shower Cake”

  1. Roxanne Richardson May 4, 2015 at 10:09 am #

    Hello. Do you sell the templates. If so I want to purchase some. Thank you

    • The Sugar Lane September 23, 2015 at 4:27 pm #

      Hello Roxanne, what kind of template are you asking about my friend I will see what I can do to help you out?

Leave a Reply

